HOME CARE LICENSE IN COLORADO
Healthcare Provider Licensing, and Certification Starts at $300 yr
Or let us do the work for you. As a not-for-profit, we’re here to support you through the life of your home care or home healthcare business enterprise
Group Home | Home Health Business | Home Care Business | Hospice Business | Medical Supply Business | Caregiver Licensing and Certification | Care Aid Certification | Medicare Certification | Medicare Provider Enrollment | Assisted Living Facilities
OVERVIEW OF HEALTHCARE SERVICES IN COLORADO
Colorado is home to over 5.8 million people, with 14.6% of them being seniors aged 65 or older. This means that nearly 850,000 older adults are drawn to the state’s majestic mountains and abundant recreational opportunities. Colorado has more than 100 hospitals, including many top-ranked facilities like the nationally ranked UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital in Aurora.
If you’re a Colorado taxpayer aged 55 and older, you get a generous state tax exclusion on your retirement income. This gets even better at age 65. Colorado property taxes are among the lowest in the nation. Seniors may qualify for property tax exemptions of up to 50%, which is excellent for those who own their homes and want to age in place. As they get older, in-home assistance helps them remain independent. Colorado seniors have two in-home care options: home care and home health care. Home care helps with household chores and personal care, while home health care offers medical assistance.
Both types of care averaged $6,387 per month in Colorado in 2021. Unfortunately, this is relatively high compared to the national average and surrounding states. According to the 2021 Genworth Cost of Care Survey, its cost of $6,387 was over $1,400 more than the national average of $4,957. Compared to adjacent states, New Mexico has the lowest price at $4,605, followed by Nebraska at $5,148 and Arizona at $5,338. Wyoming and Utah have the highest rates at $5,529 and $5,625 respectively, which is still less than Colorado’s.
This guide provides an overview of in-home care in Colorado, including average costs and how Medicaid helps cover the expense. It also offers local and statewide resources that provide free or low-cost programs to help seniors remain in their homes and communities.
WHY YOU SHOULD START A HOME CARE AGENCY IN COLORADO:
THE BENEFITS AND OPPORTUNITIES
If you are looking for a rewarding and profitable business opportunity in the health care industry, you should consider starting a home care agency in Colorado. Home care agencies provide essential services to seniors, disabled, and chronically ill individuals who need assistance with daily living activities. By starting a home care agency in Colorado, you can benefit from the following advantages:
According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Colorado has one of the highest percentages of elderly population in the nation, with 14.6% of its residents being 65 years or older. This means that there is a large and growing market for home care services in the state.
Colorado has many home care agencies compared to other states, which means that you may face more competition.
Colorado requires home care agencies to obtain a state license, which can be affordable. You also need to comply with federal and local regulations, such as obtaining a business license, registering with the IRS, and following labor and tax laws.
Colorado allows home care agencies to offer a wide range of services, such as personal care, companion care, homemaker services, respite care, and skilled nursing care. You can tailor your services to meet the specific needs and preferences of your clients.
Starting a home care agency can be challenging, but you don’t have to do it alone. You can get professional guidance and support from experienced consultants who can help you with every step of the process, from business planning and marketing to training and compliance.
Starting a home care agency in Colorado can be a fulfilling and profitable business venture. If you are interested in learning more about starting a home care agency in Colorado, contact us today for a free consultation.
HOW MUCH WOULD IT COST TO START MY BUSINESS?
Starting a home care agency in Colorado can be a rewarding and profitable business opportunity, but it also requires some initial investment and ongoing expenses.
Have in mind that you can take care of all this yourself or call us for help. We have concrete solutions that help you solve daily administrative situations, while you take care of growing your business.
Roughly The costs associated with starting your agency in Colorado involves:
1. Business License
According to the Colorado Secretary of State, businesses in the state of Colorado must pay a $50 filing fee when first filing to receive a business license with the state government.
2. LLC Formation
The filing fee for articles of organization with the Colorado Secretary of State is normally $50. However, this fee has been reduced to $1 through June 30, 2023.
3. State Tax Registration
There is no fee to register your business with the Colorado Department of Revenue to obtain a state tax identification number.
4. Federal Tax ID
There is no fee to obtain a federal tax identification number (EIN) from the IRS.
According to Insureon, commercial insurance can be affordable for small business owners in Colorado. The average cost of general liability insurance is $47 per month, while workers’ compensation insurance is $42 per month.
6. Staffing Costs
The cost of staffing your home healthcare business will depend on the number of employees and their qualifications. For example, the average hourly rate for a registered nurse in Colorado is $43.
7. Marketing Costs
The cost of marketing and advertising your home healthcare business will depend on the strategies you use. For example, the cost of running a digital marketing campaign can range from a few hundred dollars to several thousand dollars per month. There are many digital Marketing agencies, which can help your business to grow online such as Ujatcare.
8. Office Rent
According to CommercialEdge, the average monthly rent for a 1,000 square foot office in Colorado is $38.22.
9. Equipment and Supplies
The cost of medical equipment and supplies for your home healthcare business will depend on the type and quantity of items you need. For example, a hospital bed can cost between $2,000 and $5,000, while a wheelchair can cost between $200 and $2,000.
We’re here to help you!
Consult Atlas is a non for profit consulting company that aims to solve the health care crisis by helping people like you start their own home care or home health care agencies. We provide you with everything you need to succeed, from business planning and licensing to training and marketing. We also offer ongoing support and guidance to help you grow and thrive in this rewarding and profitable field.
By starting your own home care or home health care agency, you can:
– Provide essential services to seniors, disabled, and chronically ill individuals who need assistance with daily living activities
– Create jobs and opportunities for caregivers and nurses who share your passion and vision
– Generate income and profits that you can reinvest in your business or donate to a cause of your choice
– Make a positive impact on your community and the health care system